Trinity welcomes new Fellows

The Hon. Keith John Austin Asche, AC, KStJ, QC (TC 1946) and Mr Robert Champion de Crespigny AC (TC 1969) were formally acknowledged as new Fellows of Trinity College at an Evensong service held in the Trinity College Chapel on Sunday 28 August.

The Council of the College enthusiastically endorsed them as Fellows at its meeting in October 2010 for their outstanding leadership and contributions to the academic field and to the College. 

Mr Asche hosts a group of Trinity Residential College students and staff in September each year in Darwin; the two-week trip to the Northern Territory includes a week spent at the remote community of Minyerri. Mr Champion de Crespigny established a full scholarship in 2000 for an Indigenous student in honour of the many members of his family who have been students at Trinity. 

Trinity’s Warden, Associate Professor Andrew McGowan, warmly welcomed Mr Asche and Mr Champion de Crespigny as Fellows at Trinity College.

‘I’m delighted to formally acknowledge these two gentlemen as Fellows of Trinity College; they have dedicated much time and effort to the life of the College and are an outstanding example to current Trinity students,’ the Warden said. 

Mr Asche entered Trinity as an ex-serviceman in 1946. He graduated BA, LLM from the University of Melbourne and practiced as a barrister specialising in Family Law. In 1976 he was appointed the first Judge of the Family Court, Victoria. He moved to the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory in 1986, becoming its Chief Justice in 1987 and Administrator of the Northern Territory in 1993. He was Chancellor of the University of the Northern Territory and has been involved with numerous community associations in Darwin. He continues as Chairman of the Northern Territory Law Reform Committee. 

Mr Champion de Crespigny entered Trinity in 1969 and graduated BCom in 1972. Among his many business interests, he is best known as the Chairman, CEO and Foundation of Normanby Mining. He has been Chancellor of the University of Adelaide and Chairman of the Economic Development Board of South Australia. He was a founding member of the Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation and is a generous supporter of the College’s Indigenous programs. 

29 Aug 2011
Category: People