The Choir of Trinity College

The internationally acclaimed Choir of Trinity College is the flagship of Trinity’s musical life.

 KH 026 TrinityChoir 270217

During term-time, the Choir is primarily involved in the singing of services in the College Chapel. Evensong is sung twice a week, with the exception of 4 Sundays a year, when the Choir sings a Choral Eucharist.

The Choir has collaborated with various orchestras, instrumental ensembles and conductors, including performances of JS Bach’s  St Matthew Passion with Jeremy Summerly in 2011, the St John Passion with Stephen Layton in 2012 and Handel’s Messiah in 2016. In 2018 the Choir will perform the role of the semi-chorus in Edward Elgar’s ‘Dream of Gerontius’ with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and Sir Andrew Davis and will release the latest in a long line of CD recordings, a disc of Christmas Carols. 

The Choir has undertaken eight international tours, and is due to visit Spain, France and the UK during July 2018. Over the past ten years the Choir has also visited Germany, Singapore, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Baltic States, Russia, Canada and the United States.

Trinity College is particularly interested in championing new music by Australian composers. Recent performances include works by Richard Mills, Daniel Riley, Brett Dean, Lachlan McDonald, Joseph Twist, Calvin Bowman, Nigel Westlake and Brooke Shelley. 2018 will see performances of a Mass by Ross Edwards and a newly commissioned piece from the Sydney-based composer Alice Chance.

The Choir is comprised of students studying a wide range of subjects, many of whom are residents at Trinity College, but with others drawn from Monash University, Swinburne University, the Victorian College of the Arts and RMIT University.

European Tour 2018

In June, the Trinity Choir will embark on a European tour. Full details of the Choir tour below:

Saturday 30 June – 5.45pm concert at Montpellier Cathedral, France
Monday 2 July – 5pm Evensong at St Paul's Cathedral, London
Tuesday 3 July – 1.10pm lunchtime concert at St Clement Danes, London, 6pm alumni event at St Mary Le Bow, Cheapside
Wednesday 4 July – 5.15pm Evensong at St George's Chapel, Windsor Castle, Windsor
Friday 6 July – 12pm lunchtime concert in Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Sunday 8 July – 5.30pm Evensong at Great St Mary's, Cambridge
Tuesday 10 July – 8pm concert at St Giles Cathedral, Edinburgh
Wednesday 11 – Friday 13 July – 5.30pm services St Mary's Cathedral, Edinburgh
Saturay 14 – Sunday 15 July – Services in Christ Church Cathedral, Oxford – Saturday 6pm, Sunday 11am + 6pm

The concert at St Giles Edinburgh is ticketed (tickets available on the door) – all money raised will go to Christian Aid.
All other events are free, though there is an entry charge for Canterbury Cathedral. 

Please email the Director of Music at if you have any questions. 

Choral Services during term time:

Thursday 5.45pm Evensong (without sermon)

Sunday 5pm Evensong (with sermon)

Click here to view Trinity College Chapel page

Click here to view the current music list

Click here to listen to live recordings from this year on Soundcloud

Click here to browse published tracks on iTunes

Interview with Jonathan Grieves-Smith, Director of Music 2014-2016


Choral and organ scholars 

Phoebe Edwards
Beatrice Hart
Kate Kirby
Bria Rechner
Ruby Smith
Phoebe Thomson
Marion Wilson 

Clara Daley
Hannah Johns
Eliza Kelly
Stephanie Macindoe
Phillipa McQuinn
Emma Warburton 
Will Carr
Jonathan Glenning
Oliver Hendriks
George McPharlin
Daniel Riley
Christopher Roache 

Sean Cutter
Joshua Erdelyi-Gotz
Zac Hamilton-Russell
Paul McDonald
Daipayan Mukhopadyay
Alasdair Stretch

Organ Scholar
Tom Baldwin


Christopher Watson 
Chris is a former member of the Tallis Scholars and Director of Music at St Edmund Hall, Oxford.


Jonathan Grieves-Smith (2014–2016)
Former Chorus Master of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus

Michael Leighton Jones (1997–2014)
Former Choral Scholar at King’s College, Cambridge, Lay Vicar at Westminster Abbey, member of the vocal quintet The Scholars, and founder of the sextet Jones & Co

Michael Fulcher (1994–1997)
Former Director of Music, Cathedral of St Paul, Wellington, New Zealand

Dr Christopher Dearnley LVO (1992–1993)
Former Organist at St Paul's Cathedral, London

Emeritus Professor Peter Godfrey CBE (1990–1991)
Former Chorister and Choral Scholar (and later Guest Director of Music) at King's College, Cambridge

Bruce Macrae (1985–1989)

Professor Peter Dennison (1976–1985)
Professor of Music at the University of Melbourne


Sam Allchurch (Semester 2, 2016)
Conductor, Artistic Operations Manager, Gondwana Choirs

Tom Healey (Semester 1, 2016)
Former Director of Music at Geelong Grammar School and St Andrew's Anglican Church, Brighton

Jonathan Grieves-Smith (Semester 1, 2014)
Chorus Master of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus 

Michael Leighton Jones (December 1996 to August 1997)
Vocal Staff, University of Queensland 

Julian Liberto (Semester 2, 1993)

Tim Smith (Term 2, 1986)

Dr Geoffrey Cox (Terms 3 & 4, 1979)
Former Organ Scholar at New College, Oxford