Trinity College grounds

The Choir of Trinity College

The internationally acclaimed Choir of Trinity College is the flagship of Trinity’s musical life.

 KH 026 TrinityChoir 270217

During term-time, the Choir of Trinity College is primarily involved in the singing of services in the College Chapel. Evensong is sung twice a week, with the exception of two Sundays a year, when the Choir sings a Choral Eucharist.

The Choir has collaborated with various orchestras, instrumental ensembles and conductors, including performances of JS Bach’s  St Matthew Passion with Jeremy Summerly in 2011, the St John Passion with Stephen Layton in 2012 and Handel’s Messiah in 2016. In 2018 the Choir performed the role of the semi-chorus in Edward Elgar’s ‘Dream of Gerontius’ with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and Sir Andrew Davis,  released the latest in a long line of CD recordings, a disc of Carols.

The Choir has undertaken nine international tours, most recently to Spain, France and the UK during July 2018. Over the past ten years the Choir has also visited Germany, Singapore, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Baltic States, Russia, Canada and the United States.

Trinity College is particularly interested in championing new music by Australian composers. Recent performances include works by Alice Chance, Richard Mills, Daniel Riley, Brett Dean, Lachlan McDonald, Joseph Twist, Calvin Bowman, Nigel Westlake and Brooke Shelley. In 2019 the Choir released a new recording including a Mass by Ross Edwards and new commissions from Alice Chance and Daniel Riley and gave the first performance of A New Commandment by Brooke Shelley. In January and February 2020 the Choir spent three weeks touring North America, with performances in San Francisco, Toronto, Boston, New York and Washington DC, and this year are collaborating again with the Song Company, and giving the Australian premiere of Eric Whitacre's Sacred Veil, with the composer conducting. 

The Choir is comprised of students studying a wide range of subjects, many of whom are residents at Trinity College, but with others drawn from other Universities in Melbourne.

Choral services during term time:
Thursday 5.45pm Evensong (without sermon)
Sunday 5pm Evensong (with sermon)

Click here to view Trinity College Chapel page
Click here to view the current music list
Click here to listen to live recordings from this year on Soundcloud
Click here to browse published tracks on iTunes
Click here to learn about our Choir scholarships

The Choir of Trinity College, 2020

(A special VR 360˚ performance)

The Choir of Trinity College, 2019

European Tour, 2018

Choral and organ scholars 

Marjorie Butcher
Emilia Doohan
Anna Marsh
Phillipa McQuinn
Ruby Smith
Laura Tatti
Laura Tinney
Isabella Wilson

Rachel Amos
Amy Cutter
William Evans Papinski
Monika Harris
Gabrielle McDonald
Lucy Williams

Dylan Casey
Matthew Cook
Charles Hannah
Anthony Lee
David Lee
Ted Lovell

Ian Coyukiat
Ethan Flemming
Jackson Kristof
Paul McDonald
Daipayan Mukhopadhyay
Alasdair Stretch
Jonathan Ta

Junior Organ Scholar
Joshua Nah

College Organist
Thomas Heywood

Director of Music

Christopher Watson 
Chris is a former member of the Tallis Scholars and Director of Music at St Edmund Hall, Oxford.

Former Directors of Music

Michael Leighton Jones (1997–2014)
Former Choral Scholar at King’s College, Cambridge, Lay Vicar at Westminster Abbey, member of the vocal quintet The Scholars, and founder of the sextet Jones & Co

Michael Fulcher (1994–1997)
Former Director of Music, Cathedral of St Paul, Wellington, New Zealand

Dr Christopher Dearnley LVO (1992–1993)
Former Organist at St Paul's Cathedral, London

Emeritus Professor Peter Godfrey CBE (1990–1991)
Former Chorister and Choral Scholar (and later Guest Director of Music) at King's College, Cambridge

Bruce Macrae (1985–1989)

Professor Peter Dennison (1976–1985)
Professor of Music at the University of Melbourne

Acting Directors of Music

Sam Allchurch (Semester 2, 2016)
Conductor, Artistic Operations Manager, Gondwana Choirs

Tom Healey (Semester 1, 2016)
Former Director of Music at Geelong Grammar School and St Andrew's Anglican Church, Brighton

Michael Leighton Jones (December 1996 to August 1997)
Vocal Staff, University of Queensland 

Julian Liberto (Semester 2, 1993)

Tim Smith (Term 2, 1986)

Dr Geoffrey Cox (Terms 3 & 4, 1979)
Former Organ Scholar at New College, Oxford