The Choir of Trinity College

The internationally acclaimed Choir of Trinity College is the flagship of Trinity’s musical life.

Choir WebBanner658x168

The Choir of Trinity College, University of Melbourne, is the flagship of Trinity’s musical life, whose central role is the singing of choral services in the Chapel of Trinity College. It is equally acclaimed for its excellence in the concert hall and its collaborations with some of the world’s finest musicians. The current Director of Music is Jonathan Grieves-Smith, who succeeded Michael Leighton Jones in May 2014.

The Choir has a strong following for its critically acclaimed performances of Bach, which have included the St Matthew Passion with Jeremy Summerley in 2011, and the St John Passion with Stephen Layton in 2012. The Choir has been a regular guest of festivals across Australia, including as featured artists of Musica Viva, and in 2013 performed with Eric Whitacre on his debut tour to Australia.

The Choir has undertaken eight international tours, visiting England, Germany, the Baltic States and Russia, Singapore, Malaysia, New Zealand, Canada and the United States, and performances at Westminster Abbey and St Paul’s Cathedral (London), National Cathedral in Washington, and St Thomas’s, Fifth Avenue (New York), St Thomas’s, Leipzig and in St Peter and St Paul Lutheran Church in St Petersburg.

Outstanding performers of old music, the Choir of Trinity College has also been a champion for the new, including music by Gabriel Jackson, Arvo Pärt, Brett Dean, Sir John Tavener, David Briggs, Calvin Bowman and Nigel Westlake.

Future plans include the singing of Evensong on Sundays in term-time, concerts in Brisbane (St John’s Cathedral, 1 October 2014) and Hobart (St David’s Cathedral, 3 October 2014) and Melbourne (Trinity Chapel, 4 October 2014), a recording in November of music from the Baltic region including Missa Rigensis by Ugis Praulins, and its regular series of Carol Services in Trinity Chapel on 5 and 7 December 2014, and in Melbourne’s St Paul’s Cathedral on 6 December 2014.

Find out about Trinity College Chapel service times

Find out about the choir music schedule

Director of Music

English conductor and chorus master, Jonathan Grieves-Smith is recognised as one of the world’s leading choral conductors renowned for his compelling performances and artistic leadership. He is Chorus Master of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus, Director of Music at Trinity College, University of Melbourne, and Artistic Director of Hallelujah Junction, Australia’s professional chamber choir.

Jonathan has trained choirs for some of the world’s finest musicians, including Simon Rattle, Seiji Ozawa, John Eliot Gardiner, Valery Gergiev, Klaus Tennstedt, Pierre Boulez, James Levine, Stephen Layton and Roger Norrington.

An outstanding conductor of old music, he is also a champion of the new, performing music by composers including Brett Dean, Paul Stanhope, Gabriel Jackson, Giya Kancheli, Richard Mills, Alfred Schnittke, Ross Edwards, Krzysztof Penderecki, Arvo Pärt and Peteris Vasks.

Jonathan was Chorus Master of the Huddersfield Choral Society and the Hallé Choir, and Music Director of Brighton Festival Chorus. As guest conductor he has worked with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields Chorus, Orchestre National de Lille, Sydney Chamber Choir, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, the BBC Singers, London Mozart Players, Cantillation, New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Sydney Philharmonia Choirs, Dartington International Summer School, Royal Academy of Music, the Flemish Federation of Young Choirs and Europa Cantat.

Conducting highlights include tours of Brazil with the Choir of Rome’s Academy of Santa Cecilia, with pianist Nelson Freire and the London Mozart Players, and with the Melbourne Chorale (now MSO Chorus). With the Hallé Orchestra and soloists Bryn Terfel and Tasmin Little, he conducted Walton’s Belshazzar’s Feast and the Elgar Violin Concerto; and with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, he conducted Mendelssohn’s Symphony No.2 Lobgesang at the Brighton Festival.

Contact the Director of Music

Choral and organ scholars 2014

Georgia Bentley (Freemantle Choral Scholar)
Jimmy Campbell
Camilla Gorman
Lyndon Green
Hannah Grigg (N H M Forsyth Choral Scholar)
Miranda Gronow (Robert W H Cripps Choral Scholar)
William Lennie* 
Ranald Macky (Helen Macpherson Smith Trust Choral Scholar)
James McClure
Lachlan McDonald
Caitlin McIvor
Joshua McLeod*
Jordy McMillan
Alana Minchenko (Peter Godfrey Choral Scholar)
Timothy Newton*
Megan Oldmeadow
Alexandra Phillips
Christopher Roache
Emily Simpson-Page
Aaron Teh 
Phoebe Thomson (Peter Dennison Choral Scholar and N H M Forsyth Senior Choral Scholar)
Bradley Tjandra (Felicity Anne Curry and Nancy Curry Choral Scholar)
Stephen Treloar (A J Herd Choral Scholar)
Eloise Verbeek
Emma Warburton
Angus Wilkinson

*Senior Choral Scholar

Emeritus Choral Scholars

David Barmby
Kristy Biber
Peter Campbell
Thomas Drent
Benjamin Namdarian
Philip Nicholls
Suzanne Shakespeare
Siobhán Stagg
Megan Warner

College Organist

Hugh Fullarton 

Bruce Munro Junior Organ Scholar

James McLure

Former Directors of Music

Michael Leighton Jones (1997–2014)
Former member of London-based vocal quintet, The Scholars
Former member of vocal sextet Jones & Co in Brisbane

Michael Fulcher (1994–97)
Director of Music, Christ Church, South Yarra
Former Director of Music, Wellington Cathedral of St Paul, New Zealand

Dr Christopher Dearnley LVO (1992–93)
Former Organist at St Paul's Cathedral, London

Emeritus Professor Peter Godfrey CBE (1990–91)

Former Chorister and Choral Scholar (and later Guest Director of Music) at King's College, Cambridge

Bruce Macrae (1985–89)

Geoffrey Cox (Acting Director, Semester 2, 1979)

Professor Peter Dennison (1976–85)
Professor of Music at Melbourne University